Academics

General Studies Faculty

The South College General Studies faculty members are dedicated to assisting students through instruction and guidance throughout their courses. The General Studies Department's main office is in room 221 at the Main Campus, 3904 Lonas Drive, Knoxville, TN, 37909.

Full-time Faculty

Dr.  Jodi Rightler-McDaniels, PhD., General Studies Department Chair, Communication and Information, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1890jrightler@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Barbara Gay Dunlap, Mathematics Coordinator; M.Ed., Mathematics, Clemson University, 865-251-1897, gdunlap@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Robin Evans, M.S., Social Science Education, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1891, revans@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Michael Finley, M.S., Applied Mathematics, University of Illinois at Chicago, 865-293-4594, mfinley@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Norman Hammitt, M.S., Communications, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1859, nhammitt@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Renee Harold, M.A., Psychology, Child Development, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1893, rharold@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Caroline Malone, Writing Lab Associate Coordinator; M.F.A., Writing, Bennington College, 865-251-1896, cmalone@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Julia Watts, Writing Lab Coordinator; M.F.A., Writing, Spalding University, 865-251-1892, jwatts@southcollegetn.edu

 

General Studies Adjunct Instructors

Ms. Jessica Abernathy, M.A., English, Auburn University, 865-251-1847jabernathy@southcollegetn.edu 

Dr. Patricia Bailey, Ph.D., Mathematics Education, University of Tennessee; M.S.S.W., Social Work, 865-293-4562, pbailey@southcollegetn.edu

Dr. Carol Guthrie, J.D., University of Tennessee; Ph.D., History, University of Tennessee, 865-293-4579, cguthrie@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Larry Daniels, Ed.S., Math Education, University of Tennessee, M.S. Math Education, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1845, Ldaniels1@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Don Dillard, M.A., Philosophy, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1844, ddillard@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Anne Ippolito, M.A., English, New York University, 865-251-1895, aippolito@southcollegetn.edu

Dr. Whitney Jones, Ph.D., English Literature, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1868, wjones@southcollegetn.edu 

Mr. Noel Landrum, M.A., Political Science, University of Tennessee, and M.E., Educational Psychology, Miami University, 865-251-1869, nlandrum@southcollegetn.edu 

Dr. Peter Lemiszki, Ph.D., Geology, University of Tennessee; M.S., Geophysics, 865-293-4591, plemiszki@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Maegen Rochner, M.S., Geography, University of Tennessee, 865-293-4578, mrochner@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Adrian Rodriguez, M.S., Counseling, California State University, 865-251-1858, arodriguez@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Rebecca Rowe, M. A., Music, Samford University, 865-293-4582, rrowe@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Gary Taylor, B.S., Psychology, University of South Carolina, 865-251-1820, gtaylor@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Ruth Valle, M. S., Language Education, University of Tennessee, 865-293-4592, rvalle@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Mark Wankel, M.F.A., Art, University of Tennessee, 865-293-4581, mwankel@southcollegetn.edu

Dr. (Janet) Carole Witt, Ph.D., Applied Educational Psychology, University of Tennessee; M.S., Curriculum and Instruction, University of Tennessee, 865-293-4580, cwitt@southcollegetn.edu

Chat with us

Have any questions? Let us help!

Request Information

News

National Drug Control Policy Visit

South College School of Pharmacy Hosts Office of National Drug Control Policy Visit

10th Annual Writing Contest

Calling all established, budding, closet or would-be writers for South College's 10th Annual Writing Contest.