Academics

General Studies Faculty

The South College General Studies faculty members are dedicated to assisting students through instruction and guidance throughout their courses. The General Studies Department's main office is in room 221 at the Main Campus, 3904 Lonas Drive, Knoxville, TN, 37909.

Full-time Faculty

Dr.  Jodi Rightler-McDaniels, PhD., General Studies Department Chair, Communication and Information, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1890jrightler@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Barbara Gay Dunlap, Mathematics Coordinator; M.Ed., Mathematics, Clemson University, 865-251-1897, gdunlap@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Robin Evans, M.S., Social Science Education, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1891, revans@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Norman Hammitt, M.S., Communications, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1859, nhammitt@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Renee Harold, M.A., Psychology, Child Development, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1893, rharold@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. William (David) Hartsell, M. A., Cross Disciplinary Studies, East Tennessee State University, 865-293-4596, whartsell@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Anne Ippolito, M.A., English, New York University, 865-251-1895, aippolito@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Caroline Malone, Writing Lab Associate Coordinator; M.F.A., Writing, Bennington College, 865-251-1896, cmalone@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. William Turley, M.S., Mathematics, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1894, wturley@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Julia Watts, Writing Lab Coordinator; M.F.A., Writing, Spalding University, 865-251-1892, jwatts@southcollegetn.edu

 

General Studies Adjunct Instructors

Dr. Patricia Bailey, Ph.D., Mathematics Education, University of Tennessee; M.S.S.W., Social Work, 865-293-4562, pbailey@southcollegetn.edu

Dr. Michael Carrig, Ph.D., School Psychology, University of Tennessee; M.Ed., Educational Psychology, Edinboro University of Pennsylvania, 865-251-1869, mcarrig@southcollegetn.edu

Dr. Carol Guthrie, J.D., University of Tennessee; Ph.D., History, University of Tennessee, 865-293-4579, cguthrie@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Mike Jackson, M.A., Philosophy, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1874, mjackson@southcollegetn.edu

Dr. Peter Lemiszki, Ph.D., Geology, University of Tennessee; M.S., Geophysics, 865-293-4591, plemiszki@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Jim Minton, M.S., Geography, University of Tennessee; M.S.L.S., Library Science, University of Tennessee, 865-293-4586, jminton@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Rebecca Rowe, M. A., Music, Samford University, 865-293-4582, rrowe@southcollegetn.edu

Dr. Samuel Sheldon, Ph.D., Geography, Louisiana State University; M.S., Geography, Eastern Michigan University, 865-293-4557, ssheldon@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Marc Simpson, M.M., Music, Ohio University, 865-293-4540, msimpson1@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Gary Taylor, B.S., Psychology, University of South Carolina, 865-251-1820, gtaylor@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Ruth Valle, M. S., Language Education, University of Tennessee, 865-293-4592, rvalle@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Mark Wankel, M.F.A., Art, University of Tennessee, 865-293-4581, mwankel@southcollegetn.edu

Dr. (Janet) Carole Witt, Ph.D., Applied Educational Psychology, University of Tennessee; M.S., Curriculum and Instruction, University of Tennessee, 865-293-4580, cwitt@southcollegetn.edu

Chat with us

Have any questions? Let us help!

Request Information

News

KPD Bullying Town Hall Meeting

South College's West campus Auditorium will be the site of a town hall meeting on Thursday, April 17th, to discuss the problem of bullying.